top of page

'The Past Whispers' Heads Overseas

The Past Whispers has successfully made it to it's second festival!

After a successful screening at The Short Cinema, Leicester, late last month, The Past Whispers is set to screen oversea's in the Italian City of Lombardia.

The festival, entitled The Care Film Festival, was 'born to spread the culture of “taking care”; starting with the assumption that no human being can be completely self-sufficient'.

TPW was entered into the festival, as it approaches the subject of sexual assault by looking at the influence that memories with others can have on one's self-identity.

The Care Festival writes "In a systemic point of view, every human being has an interdependence bond with others and no one can live without people".

Here at The Curious Observer we hope that TPW can inspire it's audience to reflect on the unacknowledged power we hold over other peoples lives, whether it be good or bad. The film subtly suggests, that it is the bond between mother and daughter (in this case) that allows its protagonist to move past the memories that scar her.

The films director, Jane Hearst, responds by saying "For a long time, nobody knew my story. I gradually told my friends, and even counsellors, but I believed I would take it to the grave with me, before considering telling my family". She continues "If it

was not for my brothers bravery, in telling a story of his own, much like mine, I would have remained silent. That small act of bravery has gone on to inspire this film, and at last myself and others who watch, can begin to heal."

Last month, TPW premiered on it's first big screen at The Phoenix Independent Cinema Leicester. The short was seen as part of the main competition by over 200 audience members.

Whilst it did not win the main prize, TPW was given an honourable mention, celebrating it's Director Jane Hearst, for "diversity in storytelling". Jane remarks:

"It was a gesture I very much appreciated. Quite often you are told that to succeed you need to play it safe and stick to the rules created by mainstream cinema. I have always had a different way of picturing stories, which can often rely on metaphors and visual story-telling."

"I know the subject matter of The Past Whispers and other films that I have made, may be too much for

some people, but that is not reason enough to not make the films at all. I honestly believe, that with the right story, you can really affect peoples lives for the better".

So what now for the film? Coming soon, over the next few months, The Past Whispers hopes to feature in The Playback Touring Exhibition, as part of the Random Acts showcase. After that, it is down to the patient wait for call backs from festivals, to see where around the globe it will be screened next!

Watch this space to find out more.

bottom of page